Posted by: satorurero | January 27, 2010

I’m back!

Hello to you all! I apologize for the very long Hiatus but I’m back and eager to teach some more Japanese! I’ve made it my new year’s resolution to set some time aside and work on teaching. I will soon be working as a Japanese tutor on an online website called Edufire soon so you can all expect to be hearing about that in the near future. I hope you all have been doing great πŸ™‚

Since the pic for the post is one of an awesome smiley pikachu, today’s brief lesson will be on Japanese wordplay!
As some of you know, “Pokemon” is short for “Pocket Monsters”. The Japanese have always had a way of getting two word phrases and making it into one by getting the first couple letters of the two words and combining them together.

For example, in Japan a lot of the younger people would call “Harry Potter” something like “Haripo”. Brad Pitt become “BuraPi”. “Dragon Quest” to “Dora-Kue” and so on, you get the idea.

So if you ever hear anything in Japanese sound a bit weird when then chances are, it’s some sort of slang or word play that modified the original meaning of it.

This post wasn’t too informative but like they say, “The more you know~”

Subscribe to Great Teacher Sato by Email


Responses

  1. In fact I found it quite interesting. Thanks for the insiders look on this wordplay πŸ˜€


Leave a comment

Categories